34th Annual Houston Interfaith Thanksgiving Service: “Care for Creation”

34th Annual Houston Interfaith Thanksgiving Service
Theme: "Care for Creation"
Free and open to all, no registration required

Leading up to the 2019 Rothko Chapel Symposium on Climate Change, the 34th Annual Houston Interfaith Thanksgiving Service focused on the environment. Leaders and members of nine different faith communities across the city came together to share prayers, readings, chants and reflections on the theme of “care for creation.” This year's service included Baha'i, Buddhist, Christian, Hindu, Jain, Jewish, Muslim, Sikh, and Zoroastrian traditions.

The service started 34 years ago in response to the bombing of a storefront mosque. After helping to raise money to support the mosque's repairs, the Annual Thanksgiving Service co-founders George Atkinson and Garland Pohl wanted to find a way for different faith organizations to come together, as thanksgiving is a common value shared by all the major world religions. Initially, participants represented Judaism, Islam and Christianity, but within three years, Buddhists, Sikhs, Zoroastrians, Baha’i, Hindus and Jains joined the service. The creation of the event is a milestone in the development of interfaith dialogue in Houston. 

Nazli Masrour and Shahpour Masrour, Baha’i Faith 
Venerable Rong Tong and Charlene Chuang, Texas Buddhist Association 
Rev. William Lucas and Rev. Carol Bruse, West University United Methodist Church (Christian)
Acharyaa (Dr.) Kavita Vachaknavee and Dr. Harish Chandra, Arya Samaj Greater Houston (Hindu)
Samani Kanchan Pragya and Samani Pranav Pragya, JVB Preksha Meditation Center Houston (Jain)    
Rabbi Ariel Sholklapper and Rabbi Sarah Fort, Congregation Beth Yeshurun (Jewish)
Mubarak Oladejo and Shazia Ashraf, Islamic Society of Greater Houston  
Professor Sukhchain Singh and Amrik Singh, The Sikh National Center of Greater Houston  
Ervad Yazad Sidhwa and Vehista Kaikobad, Zoroastrian Association of Houston 
Houston Interfaith Thanksgiving Service Committee:
George Atkinson, United Methodist
Riaz Masrour, Baha'i
Beth Kulkarni, Hindu
Alok Jain, Jain
Vehishta Kaikobad, Zoroastrian
Charlene Chuang, Buddhist
Garland Pohl, Catholic 

Thursday, November 15, 2018
7:00 PM