Due to damage and repairs required as a result of Hurricane Beryl, the Rothko Chapel is closed indefinitely; the Welcome House will open 11am-5pm Tuesday to Sunday. Please continue to check our website for updates related to opening hours as we will update as more information becomes available. 

News & Events

10th Annual Farenthold Lecture: Dr. Rupa Marya on Health Equity

Thursday, September 26, 2024
6:30 PM

Annual Frances Tarlton “Sissy” Farenthold Endowed Lecture in Peace, Social Justice and Human Rights 
Presented in partnership with the Bernard and Audre Rapoport Center for Human Rights and Justice at UT-Austin School of Law 
Pay What You Can $10-25, general admission chair seating 

Dr. Rupa Mayra is a Professor of Medicine at the University of California, San Francisco, where she practices and teaches internal medicine. Her work sits at the nexus of climate, health and racial justice. Dr Marya founded the Deep Medicine Circle, a women of color-led organization committed to healing the wounds of colonialism through food, medicine, story, restoration and learning. She is also a co-founder of the Do No Harm Coalition, a collective of health workers committed to addressing disease through structural change. Because of her work advancing health equity, Dr. Marya was appointed by Governor Newsom to the Healthy California for All Commission, to advance a model for universal healthcare in California. She has toured twenty-nine countries with her band, Rupa and the April Fishes, whose music was described by the legend Gil Scott-Heron as “Liberation Music.” Together with Raj Patel, she co-authored the bestselling book examining the health impacts of colonialism on bodies, societies and the planet called Inflamed: Deep Medicine and the Anatomy of Injustice. 
Moderator Dr. Stephen Chao is an assistant professor of family medicine at the University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston, advisory board member of Physicians for a National Health Program, secretary of the National Council of Asian Pacific Islander Physicians, and vice president of Health Care for All Texas.

Registration forthcoming

event location

event contact