Celebrate Earth Day at the Rothko Chapel this Saturday, April 20th @11am with youth organizers focused on climate justice action! Register here!


Music in the Sky at the Rothko Chapel

Presented in partnership with Interplay

Join Interplay for an engaging evening of music in the Rothko Chapel. The first half of the performance consists of pieces for three trumpets, namely Capriccio á 3 cornetti by Johann Vierdanck, 3 Motets á 3 by Orlande De Lassus, Suite for 3 Trumpets by Henri Tomasi, and Fanfare for St. Edmundsbury by Benjamin Britten. For the second half, enjoy Tchaikovsky’s Souvenir de Florence. Souvenir de Florence, Tchaikovsky's last chamber music composition, combines Italian charm with Russian passion and intensity. The work, in the traditional four-movement form, was titled "Souvenir de Florence" because the composer sketched one of the work's principal themes while visiting Florence, Italy, It was first performed in late 1890.

Interplay seeks to develop personal interaction between the residents of the Greater Houston area and theHouston Symphony Orchestra musicians in order to enrich the cultural and artistic experience for both.

Sunday, May 22, 2016
7:30 PM

Experience an engaging evening of music in the Chapel.