The Óscar Romero Award

Prophets of a Future Not Our Own

The biennial Óscar Romero Award recognizes courageous, grassroots, human rights advocacy. The award is named after Archbishop Óscar Romero of San Salvador, who was beatified in May 2015.

Listening to Voices Not Silenced

In the weeks leading up to the award ceremony, the Rothko Chapel presents programs that investigate the perils of advocacy in the face of enormous economic and political pressures. All programs are free and take place at the Rothko Chapel, unless otherwise noted.

About the Óscar Romero Award


In Memoriam of Berta Cáceres, 2015 Óscar Romero Awardee